Arizona Rural
Schools Association


ARSA 2021 Annual Conference
Ty White accepting ARSA Teacher of the year award

The Arizona Rural Schools Association had its 26th annual convention in Flagstaff, Arizona at the Little America Hotel and Conference Center. This event, like all ARSA conferences, was a gathering of rural school leaders and teachers from every corner of our state.

We awarded our inaugural Grand Canyon University Elsie Toles Women in Rural Leadership Award to Sherry Dorathy, superintendent at Miami Unified School District and presented the ASUPD Champions of Innovation Award to Rebecca Stone, superintendent, Lake Havasu Unified School District. Our Hall of Fame recipient was Jacquelin Price, former La Paz County superintendent.

The conference theme this year was “Facing Our Next Normal Together”, and considering the challenges schools have faced over the last 18 months, the opportunity to gather was welcome and productive for Arizona Rural School members.

Our 2021 Arizona Rural Schools Association Teacher of The Year is Mr. Ty White who teaches chemistry at Wilcox High School in Cochise County.

We are grateful to our speakers, Mr. Lee Jenkins; Dr. Brian Mueller, president of Grand Canyon University; and author, Tom Zoellner. We are especially grateful to Superintendent Kathy Hoffman for her attendance and participation. 

The Arizona Rural Schools Association represents over 150 rural school districts, 430 rural schools, and over 197,000 rural students.

Ty White, Wilcox High School
Arizona Rural Schools Association Teacher of the Year.